It is, more than likely, that we get anything accomplished in our lives because we set goals. They may even be in your subconscious…you might not think about them, but we all make goals to get from A to B…or akin to the clip from What About Bob? – “baby steps.” However, Bob is breaking down…and for that matter, Dr. Leo Marvin is caving. Bob set small goals to get to Lake Winnipesaukee, but, in effect, implodes. It’s sometimes hard to avoid, but we just have to regroup and set more goals.

I, for the most part, am a very goal oriented person, however, when it’s come to my health and weightloss needs, I have not always been the best at setting goals. One of the biggest goals I’ve set in recent memory was to get into a top Ph.D. program in my field. And guess what? I did. Here I am. So, why in the name of all that is holy can I not stick to health goals? When will I realize that my health should be one of my top priorities?

I had a friend that passed through town back in November, and he put it to me quite plainly. Why can’t you just use the same mindset with your academic and professional goals as with your health goals? I knew the answer to that question, but it was one I didn’t want to admit to: I was lazy and I didn’t care enough. If I cared enough, I wouldn’t weigh in at just over 360. I wouldn’t be a prime candidate for diabetes. I wouldn’t care too much about the word ‘co-morbidity.”

We need goals, whether we want them or not. Here are a couple of ways, that I’ve found to be effective for me:

  • Make your own goals. You know your limits, and odds are, you will be more inclined to follow through if you know what to expect. Major downfall here, though, is that you can cheat quite easily unless you get someone else to follow-up with you.
  • Have someone else set some goals for you. Let’s face it: sometimes, we need to be told what to do. When my professors give me assignments, I do them. Sometimes it might not be the worst idea to have a fit friend help you in this area. It keeps you a bit more accountable and gives you an idea of what you should be (or should have been) doing in the first place. However, be sure its someone you feel comfortable with and can take a little bit of prodding. You don’t want to lose friends over exercise.
  • Try a hybrid of goals. Okay, so why not do both? Set some goals for yourself and follow the regimen of someone else at the same time. Sooner or later you should be able to come into your own.
  • Regardless, always get someone to motivate you or hold you accountable! I have found that when I involve the right people, I seem to be a lot more motivated. I know they care about me and I know they care about my well-being. I know that they just don’t flat-out hate fat people.

I’ll be the first to admit that I could always take a bit more of my own advice. I think that more often than not, when I write these things, it’s almost therapeutic and reminds me of what I should be doing or practicing what I preach.

As I have recently signed up on traineo, I can choose four ‘motivators’ (people, that is) that will get regular updates on my progress in order to help keep me focused and…well…er, motivated. I hope that I can choose those motivators soon, and will profile them on the blog.

So, with that, here is goal number one:

LOSE 115 LBS. BY JANUARY 1, 2010

Time to get started!!

