Food is an interesting topic with me. I think a lot of people tend to generalize that all overweight and obese people are fat because they eat too much, when in fact, I might not completely fit into that category. I know, I know…it sounds like an excuse, but sometimes my wife has to prod me to eat! But those who know how the body works know that not eating isn’t exactly healthy either, especially for those of us who tend to be insulin resistant.

I am not, nor do I intend to start a diet anytime soon.  I am done with dieting.  I’ve tried and tried, and realize now that I’ve gained nothing (but my weight back) from dieting! So, I have a goal to make healthier choices with food, to use portion control, and to eat the right amount of calories my body needs per day.

When I was in my early 20’s I lived in Italy for a couple of years.  One lady who found out I was going there was worried about me. “Oh my,” she said. “They have such a fattening diet.” Suggesting that she obviously though I could stand to lose a few…which I could have. I wasn’t too offended because she perpetually stuck her foot in her mouth, but she did make me think about it for a minute.  I’ve never seen a fat Italian, I thought. Maybe I’d actually lose weight? And that’s exactly what happened.  I ate a diet high in carbs nearly every day in a country where my main modes of transportation were bicycles and walking…after three months, 38 pounds melted away, and over the next five I lost 26 more and then plateaued after moving to a city where I traveled mostly by bus. In two years of not a lot of exercise, and a so-called “fattening diet,” I still managed to lose 64 pounds.

When I returned to the U.S., over the next three years I gained back 80.

Yikes.

One of the reasons I love Italy (and loved my experience there) is not only because it’s the land of my ancestors (alla parte della mia mamma), but also because I loved the food! I learned how to cook what the Italians cooked, but the food had a reverse effect on me when I came home.  Why?  Because I decided to lug my fat ass around in my truck instead of walking or biking more…that’s why.

And so goes my challenges and goals with eating healthy. I know it’s a perpetual process, and of course, I always welcome suggestions from others.  Since discovering MizFit’s blog, I have really enjoyed the recipes she’s posted and will definitely have to try them out. But I know that in the long run, I need to exercise more to burn off more of that I eat.  I need to avoid huge meals, and perhaps get better at ‘grazing’ or smaller, more frequent meals.

Any thoughts lingering out there?

