Well, I needed a little downtime yesterday to get some thoughts together, and have come to the conclusion that I will definitely repeat a week or two of the Couch-to-5k program. This morning I went out and did 2.5 miles with a 14:44 pace…a personal best up to this point, and a major improvement from the 16:07 I recorded just two days ago. These things take time, I know, and that’s why I’m willing to invest more time to improving and getting more comfortable with running.

Today I went back to the 60s run/90s walk intervals and it seemed to work in my favor time and distance wise.  I don’t know if I’ll do that next week, but I just might. I haven’t made up my mind yet, because I want to work on the 90s run/120s walk intervals, and try to improve.  But if something works in my favor–how long should I stick with it before I move on to the next step?

Either way, I feel pretty darn good about a longer distance and shorter time. A thankful shout out to MizFit for the inspiration to get over my bad day the other day and make this one much better!

Now for something a little different…

***

You all are going to think I’m nuts, but bear with me for a second.

This whole weight loss/running/health/self-improvement thing has provided a lot of emotions for me lately (maybe a little too much). You have to understand that I’m having a hard time believing that my body or weight could ever change, despite the fact that I am, in fact, running and losing weight. I can’t afford to give up…I really just can’t. So, I heard a song today very atypical to my listening pleasure that nearly brought me to tears.

What song could that possibly be, you ask? No, not Eye of the Tiger or any other Rocky song, and no Chariots of Fire

Bet On It sang by Zac Efron (as Troy Bolton) from Disney’s High School Musical 2.

It’s okay, you can laugh.  I give you permission, because it is funny, but I listened to the words and they just touched a nerve…here’s a small sampling:

I’m not gonna stop, that’s who I am
I’ll give it all I got, that is my plan
Will I find what I lost?
You know you can
Bet on it, bet on it
Bet on it, bet on it
(Bet on me)
I wanna make it right, that is the way
To turn my life around, today is the day
Am I the type of guy who means what I say?
Bet on it, bet on it
Bet on it, bet on it

And the video clip in it’s full glory (you’ll definitely find this funny…perhaps the mirror effect when he’s singing at the pond?)

Video length: 3m19s

For a guy who typically has a very eclectic taste in music and movies, I can’t say this song or movie is anywhere near my favorite, but it definitely asked the right questions.

As I’ve said before, I’m in this for the long haul. I will change. I will be healthy. I will lose weight. I will become a runner. I will kick fat’s ass like no tomorrow.

Am I the type of guy who means what I say?

Bet on it.

Cheesy, but true. Happy weekend, everyone!

