Oy. I hurt. I kind of feel like I’ve hit a brick wall…literally.

Wednesday’s run was a short one, but not terrible. I managed to keep a pace under 16:00 still, and what made me even more happy was the fact that I was able to do the 90s run/120s walk intervals without much difficulty. It seems as if the second week repetition was worth it.

That said, I came home, did my usual, and then at night went and played some ball with the boys. I had run in the morning with my cross-trainers and seemed fine afterward. However, after about 20 minutes of basketball, my legs, ankles and feet started to strain. Needless to say, it wasn’t my most productive night of basketball. I came home, and I was tired, and my feet and ankles were killing me. I busted out the Ben-Gay and went to sleep.

So what happened? I have been pretty consistent these past three weeks. I’ve stretched, I’ve hydrated, I’ve eaten well, and for the most part (there have been some exceptions) have gotten a decent amount of sleep. But yesterday, it just seems like my body told me, “Look, pal, I know this is good for me, but I need a break.” Thus far, I have avoided brick walls.  I tend to have Wednesdays be my light run days specifically because I’m going to get another hard workout, but yesterday didn’t hold up.

Anyway, I am going to go ride my trusty stationary bike and work up a sweat and then get a good night’s sleep before a long, slow run tomorrow.

Happy Independence Day weekend to everyone!!  (Or at least my American readers! Happy weekend to the rest of you too! 🙂 )

