So, I think I need more AC/DC on my iPod when I run…it just does something for me.

I did it!  I got out there today and it felt great. My pace was 14:47…not my best, but only three seconds from it. I’m a slow runner…I know this, I will be for a while, so I don’t expect this number to be augmented altogether too much in the coming weeks, but it’s a hell of a lot better than that 16:00 from a while back.

I finally moved onto week 3 of the Couch-to-5k program — though for me it is technically week 4. This week called for the usual ‘brisk’ five-minute warm-up walk and then intervals as usual. This week’s intervals are 90s run/90s walk followed by a 3 min. run/3 min. walk. Lather, rinse, repeat. I can’t tell you what euphoria I had when I ran my first 90 seconds without hardly getting winded! It seemed so easy.  I knew I had to enjoy it while it lasted (ahem…all 90 seconds) because the next interval wasn’t going to be as easy.

And it wasn’t.

I got up to about 2:45 of straight running before I puttered out. I can’t tell you how badly I wanted to just do 15 more seconds, but the heart rate was a bit high and my lungs were telling me, “Stop now, before we do it for you, tough guy.” So I did, and I walked (perhaps a bit more than three minutes, but not too much longer) and then decided that I might need an extra day with this interval schedule.  I was, however, able to do 90s intervals all the way home, and it felt pretty good. Ironically enough, this came when The Eagles Take it Easy was playing…wherein I substituted the lyrics, “Don’t let the sound of your on wheels make you crazy,” to “Don’t let the sound of your own heels make you crazy.” I know, I know…I’m weird, and ‘oh-so-creatively-funny.’ But not really. 😉

To top it off, I came home, decided it was time to weigh again and to my amazement, had dropped roughly another 2.5 pounds. Happy day.

Let’s hope this week can continue to be a great one!

