So, is it totally weird for me to say that I’m just kind of sick of blogging?  I mean, I am, but I’m not. I wish I could use some sort of voice-to-text software to put how I really feel into words. I’m in a funk, clearly, and I haven’t been too great at expressing myself lately. Perhaps I should try some video posts?

Well, as you may have assumed these first few weeks of monitoring my blood sugar has been interesting. I’ve been stable for the most part–a couple highs, a couple lows. I still haven’t gotten used to the finger pricking…

ME: Does it hurt?

NURSE: Oh, no. You can barely feel it, and if you do feel it, you get used to it.

ME: Well, okay, so I just press this in and then push the button against my finger like this and…OUCH!

In any case…I wish that nurse wasn’t a liar. 😉 My wife has been amazing at trying her best to ensure we eat the right foods, and I’m really grateful to her for that.

I’m also grateful to all of you who’ve been checking on on me. My blogging has taken a turn for the worse each semester and I continually get busier. I can only laugh when people assume that I (or ANY other doctoral student for that matter) has ample amounts of time to do whatever they want. Maybe some, but definitely not me. I am helping my major professor prepare a new edition of his book, writing a section of a teaching supplement for that book, working on a book chapter with him and another co-author, writing a book chapter of my own that’s due in a couple of weeks, submitting a couple of manuscripts to journals for reviews, working on several conference papers and starting to organize my data and model for my dissertation.

I’m busy.

So, I think in order to keep me motivated I’m going to have to make some changes. I don’t know what those changes would be off the top of my head, but change seems to help me focus on the big picture. My right knee has been bothering me for sometime so the running has more or less come to a halt. So, my good friend zapped a copy of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred over to me. Jillian is about to become my new best friend, because seriously folks, I have to exercise. To break out of her monotony, I think it’s high time I bust out DDR a bit more, que no?

So, I’m curious?  What do the rest of you all do when your current exercise routine gets boring?  I mean I mostly run and ride a stationary bike. But I got rid of the bike (mostly for man related issues 😉 ) and my knee is bugging me.

Other than Jillian Michaels and DDR…any suggestions?

